Call for Nominations - Karl W. Böer Award 2022

The Call for Nominations for the Karl W. Böer Award 2022 is now open!

The Karl W. Böer Solar Energy Medals are awarded every two years for pioneering advancements in renewable energy. These distinguished awards include a bronze medal and monetary prizes. Nominations are due January 15, 2022.

In 2022, two medals will be awarded for the first time—the traditional Karl Böer Solar Energy Medal of Merit, carrying a $100,000 prize, honoring a world-renowned individual who has made pioneering advancements in renewable energy as an alternative source of energy, and the newly endowed Karl W. Böer Renewable Energy Mid-Career Award, carrying a $25,000 prize.

The medals are named in honor of Dr. Karl Wolfgang Böer, a trailblazing scientist in the field of renewable energy who founded the Institute of Energy Conversion (IEC) at the University of Delaware. Since its founding in 1972, IEC has been a leader in photovoltaic research. It is the oldest solar cell institution in the world and a U.S. Department of Energy-designated University Center of Excellence for Photovoltaic Research and Education.

Submit your nominations here!

Dr. Böer, who passed away on April 18, 2018, at the age of 92, was a visionary scientist whose work led to significant progress in the field of renewable energy. The medals he generously endowed through the Karl W. Böer Solar Energy Medal of Merit Award Trust, established at the University of Delaware in 1991, have become the most prestigious awards for the global solar energy community and now honor leadership in all forms of renewable energy. The first Böer Medal was awarded in 1993 to former President Jimmy Carter.

The Böer Medals will continue to honor those who have, through their vision and inventiveness, made enduring progress toward the evolution of a more sustainable future for our planet.

ISES is privileged to be a key partner of the Karl Böer Solar Energy Medal of Merit Award and ISES President Prof. Klaus Vajen is a Member of the Awards Committee for 2022. Over the years, this prestigious award has honored the contributions of solar energy researchers and advocates. Karl Böer also made an important contribution to the Society in his publication of the two-volume Fifty-year history of the International Solar Energy Society and its national Sections.