ISES Special Service Award

This award was introduced in 1995 to honour those who have made a distinguished contribution to ISES.  Past recipients of the ISES Special Service Award can be found here.

2017 Recipient

The 2017 recipient of this award went to Dr. Elimar Frank. Dr. Elimar Frank is Deputy Head of Sustainability Research at Forma Future Invest AG, Zürich, CEO of the Consulting Company Frank Energy GmbH and Lecturer in Swiss Education Programs on Renewable Energies. Dr. Elimar Frank is proposed to receive the ISES Special Service Award due to his great work organizing and securing the future development of ISES Europe and the EuroSun Conferences. Dr. Elimar Frank has been ISES Board member for a long period and member of the Executive Committee. He was President of ISES Europe for the period 2013-15 and Scientific Chair of the EuroSun 2014 Conference in France.

2013 Recipient

Prof. Klaus Vajen is receiving the Special Service Award for his many years of service to ISES on Board of Directors especially in the area of the Solar Congresses and for advancing education in solar energy at the university level, both at masters and PhD by offering various courses in solar heating. He served on the Board of Directors from 2002-2011, was the Vice President for Membership Affairs from 2006-2007 and was instrumental in launching Young ISES, an initiative to get more young professionals and students involved in ISES. He was the Chair of the ISES Solar World Congress 2011 in Kassel, Germany, one of the most successful ISES congresses.

2013 Recipient

Isao Yukawa is receiving the award for his commendable service to ISES as the first Vice President for Industries from 2006-2008. He helped increase the involvement of the solar energy industry in ISES. He was the President of the Kyocera Solar Corporation, one of the largest solar energy companies in the world, until his retirement in 2010. Since then he has been working as personal solar management consultant as well as solar business development support consultant for developing countries. He also holds an honorary position on the Japan Photovoltaic Energy Association.