ISES Awards 2019 - Winners announced!

ISES Awards - Honouring Excellence

Since 1975, ISES has been honouring those who have made significant achievements and contributions toward advancing solar energy applications and the awards are presented biennially at the Solar World Congress.

This year, ISES is happy to announce the winners for the 2019 ISES awards as follows:

Farrington Daniels Award

Presented since 1975, this is the premier world award for outstanding intellectual leadership in the field of Solar Energy. Winners have an established & long-standing international reputation and have made significant contributions to the work and goals of ISES. The winner is invited to deliver an address at the ISES Solar World Congress.

This year's award is presented to Lawrence L. Kazmerski (USA)

Lawrence L. Kazmerski is Emeritus Research Staff Member of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Golden, Colorado, having last served as Executive Director Science and Technology Partnerships at NREL 2009-2013.  He is currently Research Professor at the University of Colorado Boulder, with the Renewable and Sustainable Energy Institute (RASEI). Kazmerski’s 50-year professional career in solar energy includes serving as the founding Director of the National Center for Photovoltaics (NCPV) for the period 1999 through 2008.

Learn more about the Farrington Daniels Award and all past recipients here.

Quote from the winner:

The Farrington Daniels Award has honored so many key contributors to solar technologies who have reflected Farrington Daniels science innovation and solar energy vision that have made these energy sources real today. And more importantly, have established the firm pathway toward the ISES-led 100% renewable energy future. I am extremely happy and honored to receive this recognition and to be part of ISES—but humbled to join this group of really distinguished Farrington Daniels awardees.

Achievement through Action Award - In Memory of Christopher A. Weeks

This award honours important contributions to the harnessing of solar energy for practical use or a new concept, development or product for the same purpose. Receipts can be individuals, groups or corporate bodies. It has been presented since 1983 and the award includes a certificate and a cash prize derived from funds donated by Mrs. Marta Weeks, a long-time supporter of ISES and Platinum Member.

This year’s award is presented to Ricardo Rüther (Brazil)

Ricardo Rüther is a metallurgical Engineer from the Federal University of RioGrande do Sul with a Master in Mining, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering from Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Ph.D. in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from University of Western Australia ,postdoctoral fellow for photovoltaic solar systems at Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems in Germany and postdoctoral fellow for photovoltaic solar systems integrated to buildings at the University of Western Australia. He currently is a Professor at UFSC and coordinator of the EC82-1ABNT-Brazilian Association of Technical Standards(Commission of Study Conversion Systems of Photovoltaic Solar Energy). He was founder and first president of ABENS (the Brazilian Section of the International Solar Energy Society) and is part of the National Institute of Science and Technology in Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency in the Amazon(INCT-EREEA).

Learn more about the Achievement through Action Award and all past recipients here.

Quote from the winner:

"I am very pleased and honoured to be the recipient of the ISES Achievement through Action Award in memory of Christopher Weeks, and look forward to being able to further contribute to a more widespread adoption of solar energy technologies worldwide. 

I should also mention that the Actions leading to the Achievements resulting in my nomination to this award are the result of a team effort, and would like to acknowledge all my research students who are the core and strength of our solar energy laboratory."




Global Leadership Award in Advancing Solar Energy Policy - In Honour of Hermann Scheer

In recognition of the late Dr. Hermann Scheer (1944-2010), this award was introduced and presented for the first time in 2011 to pay tribute to the solar hero whose enourmous contribution and vocal political commitment to solar energy were so effective in bringing about energy changes globally. The award is presented to a person who has made significant contributions to the advancement of solar energy policy.

This year's award is presented to Hans-Josef Fell (Germany)

Hans-Josef Fell, President of the Energy Watch Group, an independent, non-profit, non-partisan global network of scientists and parliamentarians, since 2014 focusses his work on the expansion and deployment of renewables to reach 100% renewable energy worldwide. As a member of the German Parliament from 1998 -2013 and faction spokesperson for Energy Policy, Hans-Josef Fell is author of the Renewable Energy Sources Act. At the Energy Watch Group, he advises governments and parliaments worldwide on the renewable energy transition and analyses global energy developments. In 2018, Hans-Josef Fell won the prestigious Lui Che Woo Prize honoring his lifetime achievements for the Energy Transition.

Learn more about the Award and all past recipients here.

Quote from the winner:

"It is a great honour and pleasure for me to receive the Hermann Scheer Award from ISES. I am particularly pleased because I have been able to work together with Hermann Scheer for two decades at EUROSOLAR and in the German Parliament. The Renewable Energy Sources Act (EEG), which we designed and implemented together with other colleagues in the German Parliament in 2000, triggered a global revolution for the expansion of renewable energy. This revolution is why solar and wind energy are the most economical forms of energy generation today and why climate protection no longer poses a burden. Thank you ISES for the commitment and tireless dedication on our way to 100% renewable energy and for this award."