Solar Energy Journal Awards Ceremony 2023
Monday, 11. December 2023
3:00 to 4:30 AM (GMT/UTC)
The webinar duration is 1:30 hours.

Solar Energy Journal Awards Ceremony 2023

On December 11 at 3PM GMT/UTC, join ISES and Solar Energy Journal Editor-in-Chief Ranga Pitchumani for the 2023 Solar Energy Journal Awards ceremony in which we will present the winners of the 2023 Best Paper Awards as well as the 2023 Editors of the Year.

About the awards:

Every two years, Solar Energy Journal recognizes selected articles through the biennial Solar Energy Journal Best Paper Awards. The papers are recognized for their novelty and impact in the five subject areas of PV Cells and Cell Physics, Solar Heating/Cooling and Buildings, Concentrating Solar Power and Photochemistry, Solar Resources and Meteorology, and Solar Systems Integration. The papers are selected by the Editor-in-Chief based on nominations by the editorial board.

In 2023, Solar Energy Journal Editor-in-Chief Prof Ranga Pitchumani will also award the Editors of the Year for the very first time. Through this award, Solar Energy recognizes the dedication and commitment of the Associate Editors to promoting the Journal and ensuring high quality of the articles published. The Journal further recognizes that overseeing the scientific review process in a timely manner takes significant effort and coordination.


About the event:

The award ceremony will take place virtually on December 11 at 3PM GMT/UTC - registration is required and available here.

The ceremony will be moderated by Prof. Viktoria Martin (Energy Technology at KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden), ISES Board Member and Co-Chair of the ISES Publications Committee.

Editor in Chief of Solar Energy Journal, Prof. Ranga Pitchumani (Virginia Tech, Falls Church, Virginia, United States) will present the award winners and the winners of the Best Paper Award will give a short introduction into the papers they published in Solar Energy Journal.

Prof. Pitchuman will also present the 2023 Associate Editors of the Year.


Join us on December 11 and meet this year's Solar Energy Journal Best Paper and Associate Editor of the Year winners!


About Solar Energy Journal:

Solar Energy, the official journal of the International Solar Energy Society, is devoted exclusively to the science and technology of solar energy applications. Solar Energy welcomes manuscripts presenting information not previously published in journals on any aspect of solar energy research, development, application, measurement or policy. The term “solar energy” in this context includes the indirect uses such as wind energy and biomass.

The journal has been in publication since 1957 and has a CiteScore of 13.1 and an Impact Factor of 6.7.


Prof. Viktoria Martin - Moderator

Dr. Viktoria Martin is Professor in Energy Technology at KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden. A graduate of KTH (MSc in Chemical Engineering 1993) and the University of Florida (PhD in Mechanical Engineering 1998), she has pursued a career in international research collaborations within the International Energy Agency as well as the EU, providing insight into a variety of leading research and education arenas. Dr. Martin has over 25 years of experience in education, research, and entrepreneurship in the area of sustainable energy, with a special focus on thermal energy storage and heat-driven heat-pumping technology. She is the author/co-author of 100+ publications within her research area. Equally important to research is her work on high-quality education within the field, and she is presently the director of a two-year MSc degree programme in Sustainable Energy Engineering with participants from all over the world.

Prof. Ranga Pitchumani - Presenter

Prof Pitchumani is George R. Goodson Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Virginia Tech, USA. At Virginia Tech, he directs the Advanced Materials and Technologies Laboratory, which focuses on research in the areas of energy and materials. From 2011–2015, Prof Pitchumani served in an invitational role as the Chief Scientist for the SunShot Initiative at the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), where he was the Founding Director of the SunShot Concentrating Solar Power program and Director of the Systems Integration program. In his role at the DOE, he defined bold national goals for achieving cost-competitive solar energy technologies and their ubiquitous integration into the electric grid. Prof Pitchumani has been on the editorial team of many journals, most recently serving as the subject editor for Solar Energy in the area of Concentrating Solar Power and High Temperature Applications. Among his honours, he is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and a recipient of the Hoyt Clarke Hottel Award from the American Solar Energy Society for leadership in the development of cost-effective solar energy.