Solar Energy Journal Awards Announced

On December 11, ISES and the Solar Energy Journal got together for the first ever virtual awards ceremony for the Solar Energy Journal awards.

Every two years, Solar Energy Journal recognizes selected articles through the biennial Solar Energy Journal Best Paper Awards. The papers are recognized for their novelty and impact in the five subject areas of PV Cells and Cell Physics, Solar Heating/Cooling and Buildings, Concentrating Solar Power and Photochemistry, Solar Resources and Meteorology, and Solar Energy Systems Integration. The papers are selected by the Editor-in-Chief based on nominations by the editorial board.

In 2023, Solar Energy Journal Editor-in-Chief Prof Ranga Pitchumani will also award the Editors of the Years for the very first time. Through this award, Solar Energy recognizes the dedication and commitment of the Associate Editors to promoting the Journal and ensuring high-quality of the articles published. The Journal further recognizes that overseeing the scientific review process in a timely manner takes significant effort and coordination.

The event was moderated by ISES Board Member Prof. Viktoria Martin and Solar Energy Journal Editor-in-Chief Prof. Ranga Pitchumani presented the awards to representatives of the Best Paper winners as well as to the three winners of the Associate Editor of the Year category.



Below, we are happy to present the Best Papers and Associate Editors of the Year including the recording of the virtual awards ceremony  - Congratulations to all!

Best Paper Awards 2023

The following papers were awarded the Best Paper Prize 2023:


PV Cells and Cell Physics

  • Stable and efficient Sb2Se3 solar cells with solution-processed NiOx hole-transport layer by Liping Guo, S. N. Vijayaraghavan, Xiaomeng Duan, Harigovind G. Menon, Jacob Wall, Lingyan Kong, Subhadra Gupta, Lin Li, Feng Yan - Solar Energy, Volume 218, 2021, 525-531 -



Solar Heating & Cooling, Buildings

  • Improving the performance of tubular solar still integrated with drilled carbonized wood and carbon black thin film evaporation by Swellam W Sharshir, AW Kandeal, Youssef M Ellakany, Ibrahem Maher, Ahmed Khalil, Ahmed Swidan, Gamal B Abdelaziz, Hany Koheil, Maher Rashad - Solar Energy, Volume 233, 2022, 504-514 -


  • Investigation of physico-mechanical, thermal properties and solar thermoregulation performance of shape-stable attapulgite based composite phase change material in foam concrete by Osman Gencel, Abid Ustaoglu, Ahmet Benli, Gökhan Hekimoğlu, Ahmet Sarı, Ertugrul Erdogmus, Mucahit Sutcu, Gökhan Kaplan, Oguzhan Yavuz Bayraktar - Solar Energy, Volume 236, 2022, 51-62 -


CSP & Photochemistry

  • A feasibility study on the application of mesh grids for heliostat wind load reduction by Matthew J. Emes, Azadeh Jafari, Maziar Arjomandi - Solar Energy, Volume 240, 2022, 121-130 -


Solar Resources

  • IrradianceNet: Spatiotemporal deep learning model for satellite-derived solar irradiance short-term forecasting by Andreas H Nielsen, Alexandros Iosifidis, Henrik Karstoft - Solar Energy, Volume 228, 2021, 659-669 -


Systems Integration

  • Modeling, testing, and mitigation of electromagnetic pulse on PV systems by Wei Qiu, Liang Zhang, He Yin, Lawrence C Markel, Dahan Liao, Ben W McConnell, Yilu Liu - Solar Energy, Volume 264, 2023, 112010 -


  • Techno-economic potential and perspectives of floating photovoltaics in Europe by Leonardo Micheli, Diego L Talavera, Giuseppe Marco Tina, Florencia Almonacid, Eduardo F Fernández - Solar Energy, Volume 243, 2022, 203-214 -

Associate Editors of the Year 2023

Solar Energy recognizes the dedication and commitment of the Associate Editors to promoting the Journal and ensuring the high quality of the articles published. The Journal further recognizes that overseeing the scientific review process in a timely manner takes significant effort and coordination. Therefore, the Journal recognizes annually one or more Associate Editor(s) with the Associate Editor of the Year Award, which includes a certificate and the opportunity for the awardee to have one peer-reviewed article published in Solar Energy open access for 6 months free of charge. The Associate Editor(s) of the Year is/are selected by the Editor-in-Chief based on nominations received from the Subject Area Editors.

Solar Heating/ Cooling and Buildings - Dr. Anna Laura Pisello (Italy)

Dr. Pisello is an associate professor of environmental applied physics at University of Perugia, Italy where she founded the Environmental Applied Physics Lab. She has been a visiting research associate at Princeton University (NJ), Columbia University (NY), Virginia Tech (Virginia) and City University of New York.

She is the author of more than 150 international refereed journal publications and several patents about microclimate monitoring systems, new materials for radiative cooling and photoluminescence. Dr Pisello has won several international academic awards and European projects under the framework of Horizon 2020 and Horizon Europe program including one European Research Council grant about radiative cooling for urban heat mitigation, as the first and only Italian scientist in the field of Environmental/Industrial Applied Physics. She is an associate editor of Solar Energy (Elsevier), editor of Energy and Buildings (Elsevier) and Nature Scientific Reports, among others.

Photovoltaic Cells and Cell Physics - Dr. Lingamallu Giribabu (India)

Dr. Giribabu is a Senior Scientist at the CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical technology (IICT), Hyderabad, India, and a Professor at the Academy of Scientific and Innovation Research (AcSIR).

His expertise is in the design and development of low-cost materials that include sensitizers, redox couples, electrode materials, semi-conducting metal oxides, and hole transport materials for dye-sensitized solar cells and perovskite solar cells. His group also investigates donor-acceptor systems-based pigment molecules for bio-mimicking of natural photosynthesis, non-linear optical properties as well as sensitizers for photodynamic therapy. He is the recipient of several awards including the Materials Research Society award, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, and a Fellow of the Luminescence Society of India. He has published over 250 research articles, is an inventor on 7 patents and has published six book chapters.

Concentrating Solar Power and High Temperature Processes - Dr. Robert Pitz-Paal (Germany)

Dr. Pitz-Paal is one of the two directors of DLR Solar Research Institute, the largest research institution in Germany working in the field of concentrating solar technologies. This position is jointly assigned with a professorship at Aachen University. 

His main research areas are the technical analysis and optimization of concentrating solar power systems for generating electricity and producing fuel. Many innovations developed in his institute can be found today in commercial solar thermal power plants. Dr Pitz-Paal has serves as associate editor the Journal of Solar Energy and served as the chairman of the SolarPACES technology Cooperation Programme of the IEA form 2017 -21. He is also member of the board of the German Industry Association of CSP (DeutscheCSP) and of the European Industry Association ESTELA. Pitz-Paal received the Farrington-Daniels Award of the International Energy Society in 2017 and the Frank Kreith Energy Award of the ASME in 2020.

Awards Ceremony Recording